Coming Events

This is a list of all the events planned by the society over the next few months. They are listed in date order for convenience.

All events listed at held at the Pasterfield Centre, Horizon Drive, Cameron Park. (See home page for directions). Except for the 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo, held at the Newcastle Showground Exhibition Centre, Brown Road, Broadmeadow, 150m from the Broadmeadow Railway Station.

2021

Thurs 12 August – Annual General Meeting, election of officers, Annual Club Competition, and Club Awards

Wed 18 August – social Meeting, display by Roger Eggleton, Calgary Stampede.

Thurs 9 September – monthly meeting, display by Greg Laidler, Australia 1936 Tasmanian Cable issue.

Wed 15 September – social meeting, display by Ed Burnard, New Zealand Alternative Posts, part 2.

Wed 22 September – Auction Night, viewing from 6.30pm, auction 7.00pm. Details and lotting numbers from Don Catterall. Please follow the covid regulations applying at the time.

Since some of our members do not have a mobile phone and cannot use the QR code, we require pen and paper sign-in. (This is emailed to NSW Health if requested).

Thurs 14 October – monthly meeting, displayer to be advised (depending on covid lockdowns).

Wed 20 October – social meeting, displayer Sandra Baker, French Antarctic, British Antarctic, and items of Irish heritage

Thurs 21 October – set up for the 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo, and the 2021 Half National Newcastle Philatelic Exhibition. From 9am, furniture arrives 10am.

Friday 22 October – Day 1 of the 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo, and the 2021 Half National Newcastle Philatelic Exhibition, 9am to 5pm. Theme is Regional Mail Delivery day, with special souvenir cover and Australia Post cancel.

Sat 23 October – Day 2 of the 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo, and the 2021 Half National Newcastle Philatelic Exhibition, 9am to 5pm. Theme is Aviation, with two special souvenir covers and Australia Post cancels.

Sat 23 October – Palmares (Awards Dinner) for the Exhibition, Wallsend Diggers, Tyrrell Street, Wallsend, doors open 6.00pm, bar opens 6.30pm, sit down 7.00pm. Includes presentation of awards, auction of souvenirs, lots of fellowship between collectors.

Sun 24 October – Day 3 of the 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo, and the 2021 Half National Newcastle Philatelic Exhibition, 10am to 3pm. Theme is postcards, with special souvenir postcard and Australia Post cancel.

Thurs 11 Nov – monthly meeting, displayer to be advised (depending on covid restrictions)

Wed 17 Nov – social meeting, displayer John Hill, Christmas Island (depending on covid restrictions)

Frid 26 November – Christmas Party, from 6.00pm, bring a plate and (optional) an item for the Show and Tell. Cost $5 per head.

Thurs 9 December – monthly meeting, hosted by our Quiz Compere Don Catterall. Quiz relating to Australian stamps.

There is no social meeting in December.

2022

Thurs 13 January – monthly meeting, display by Gordon Gibbons, Chile Miscellaneous.

Wed 19 January – social meeting

Thurs 10 Feb – monthly meeting, display by Jim MacDougall, History of Canada

Wed 16 Feb – social meeting

Thurs 22 April – Popular Choice Competition, 6 pages philatelic, topic starting with the letter D