Coming Events

This is a list of all the events planned by the society over the next few months. They are listed in date order for convenience.

All events listed at held at the Pasterfield Centre, Horizon Drive, Cameron Park. (See home page for directions). For all our meetings, the doors open at 1.50pm, meetings commence at 2.00pm. Afternoon tea follows the meetings, bring a cup if you remember.

The 2021 Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo has been postponed until Friday 27 May to Sunday 29 May 2022. The venue is the same, the Newcastle Showground Exhibition Centre, Brown Road, Broadmeadow, 150m from the Broadmeadow Railway Station. (See below for details). Closing date for entries is now Monday 28 February 2022.

You can print these pages by holding down CTRL and striking the letter P. Ignore page 1 (this is mostly blank), print pages 2 and 3. Note – this works on most computers.

2021

DUE TO LOCKDOWN, MOST EVENTS HAVE BEEN MOVED TO ANOTHER TIME

Thurs 9 September – this meeting has been cancelled due to the lockdown. The Annual General Meeting, election of officers, Annual Club Competition, and Club Awards will be held at the next available opportunity.

Wed 15 September – this meeting has be cancelled due to the lockdown, depending on the regulations applicable at the time.

Wed 22 September – the auction has been postponed to October or November, depending on covid restrictions.

Since some of our members do not have a mobile phone and cannot use the QR code, we require pen and paper sign-in. (This is emailed to NSW Health if requested).

Thurs 14 October – monthly meeting, re-scheduled as the Annual General Meeting, election of officers, Annual Club Competition, and Club Awards.

Wed 20 October – social meeting, bring six pages of something philatelic

The Expo originally planned for the end of October has been postponed until Friday 27 May to Sunday 29 May 2022, set up day Thursday 26 May 2022.

Thurs 11 Nov – monthly meeting, displayer Greg Laidler, 1936 Tasmanian Cable issue

Wed 17 Nov – social meeting, displayer by Ed Burnard, New Zealand Alternative Post Systems, part 2.

Frid 26 November – Christmas Party, from 6.00pm, bring a plate and (optional) an item for the Show and Tell. Cost $5 per head.

Thurs 9 December – monthly meeting, hosted by our Quiz Compere Don Catterall. Quiz relating to Australian stamps.

There is no social meeting in December.

2022

Thurs 13 January – monthly meeting, display by Gordon Gibbons, Chile Miscellaneous.

Wed 19 January – social meeting, displayer Sandra Baker, French Antarctic, British Antarctic, and 100 items of Irish heritage

Thurs 10 Feb – monthly meeting, display by Jim MacDougall, History of Canada

Wed 16 Feb – social meeting, displayer Roger Eggleton, Calgary Stampede

Thurs 10 March – monthly meeting, displayer Ron Davis, British Offshore Islands Part 2

Thurs 14 April – Popular Choice Competition, 6 pages philatelic, topic starting with the letter D

Thurs 26 May – set up day for Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo

Friday 27 May to Sunday 29 May – Newcastle Stamp and Coin Expo